Not My Crown

This morning the song, “How Great Thou Art” came to mind.  My heart was so moved, when I sang and “heard” each word, I was overwhelmed. He alone is worthy of such adoration.  I could not tell you who wrote that song until I looked it up. His name was Carl Gustav Boberg and Sturart K Hine translated it. As far as I know, he’s never been famous or idolized as a great song writer, but his words changed many hearts and gave glory to the inspiration for the song, God himself.

Earlier this week I was listening to a Christian radio station and they were playing “Oh Lord You’re Beautiful” by Keith Green.  Once again such deeply moving lyrics.  I began to wonder about the person so inspired to write with such heart and soul, so I did a little research on him.  What a story!  A Jewish boy who called himself a Jewish Christian!  He was an amazing man, not seeking fame or riches, but totally seeking to glorify God.   He asked, why do we idolize Christian singers and musicians, seeking autographs and making them stars?  It is not good for us, or for them!  Satan gets the victory when our eyes turn to worshiping the singer and not the message in the song!  He went on to say, no one idolizes or buys tickets to hear missionaries speak.  They who have given up most everything to share God’s love.

We must be careful of whom or what becomes an idol to  us.  I challenge you to think what may be one in your life.  Something so insignificant you don’t even realize it. Maybe idol is the wrong word, maybe something is just too important to you.   My home used to be, and I was always unhappy because it was never “right”…always short of perfection.  It is finally a place of safety, warmth and peace, no matter what it looks like, and that’s OK.

I want to take your word, and shine it all around, but first help me just to live it Lord, and when I’m doing well, help me to never seek a crown – for my reward is giving glory to you.  (Keith Green 1953-1982)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not My Crown

Leave a Reply

